MEDLIB-L Archives

June 1999, Week 3


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Tom Hayes <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Metta Lansdale <[log in to unmask]>
Thu, 17 Jun 1999 13:24:29 -0400
text/plain (109 lines)

It sounds like, if the site was legitimate, that it has been hacked.

I don't know if you know about Internic or not.  Any time you have a
question about the origin of a site you can go to
Actually, it is changing over to "Network Solutions" now:

But all domains have to be registered.  If you click on the link named WHOIS
Search on the left, you are taken to search interface.  You type in the
domain name and site type:

It will give you the information you require:

        MACROS-TELECOM corp. (NWRC6-DOM)
           340, 24 Lenin st.
           Omsk, SIB 644024

           Domain Name: NWRC.ORG

           Administrative Contact:
              Smirnoff, Alexandr  (AS4872)  [log in to unmask]
              +7 3812 31-1756 (FAX) +7 3812 31-3672

So, unless the national women's resource center is administered out of
Russia, there is a problem.

I hope this helps....

Thomas W. Hayes
Director, Pediatric Learning Center
Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital
11100 Euclid Avenue, Rm 706
Cleveland, OH 44106
w: 216-844-3265
f: 216-844-1724

-----Original Message-----
From: Metta Lansdale
To: [log in to unmask]
Sent: 6/17/99 10:56 AM
Subject: Raunch on the Web - Alert and request for help

As you may know, I am the Health Information Specialist for the Michigan
Electronic Library  - MEL - a collection of web resources directed to
general public and to public libraries.

I was notified last night by one of my users that a site I have is
bouncing to a new, presumably unauthorized, page devoted to some
raunchy stuff -- no barriers, just the main thing, without anyone asking
for it.

I want to alert my colleagues and also express my concern about the
resource that was used.  I will give you the details next and ask if
anyone knows anything about the National Women's Resource Center?

The Details last night:

><LI><A HREF="">
>National Women's Resource Center</A>
>If you click on it the link immediately bounces to this link:
>very gross, defininitely xxxx rated.
>This person's address is at the bottom of the rawnchy page:
>e-mail:[log in to unmask]

This morning, when I put in the url, I was immediately taken to a site
people who process credit cards.

At the bottom of the credit card page is this e-mail link:
         [log in to unmask]

To All:

Does anyone know how to reach the people at the National Women's
Center, if they do, in fact exist.  Do you know anything about this
We, at MEL, may want to track down the host for this site to alert the

Thank you all for your time!

Metta T. Lansdale, Jr., Director
Chelsea District Library
Voice:  (734) 475-0006
  Fax:  (734) 475-6190
E-mail:  [log in to unmask]

Selector for Health Information Resources
Michigan Electronic Library