So, does that mean if someone brings in the old form that clerks should not
Susan in Newbury
----- Original Message -----
From: "Karen Richard" <[log in to unmask]>
To: <[log in to unmask]>
Sent: Friday, October 01, 2010 8:17 AM
Subject: Re: Mobile Home Bill of Sales
I have posted below an information sheet re: legislative changes to the
Mobile Home Uniform Bill of Sale. It is also available on the new website
for the Clerk's Assocication at http://www.vmcta.org/
I am working with Cory Gustofson, VLCT, to have it posted on the VLCT
The Bill of Sale is actually part of the legislation and Act 140 requires it
to be posted on the website of the Dept of Housing and Community Affairs.
You can print copies from that website.
If you have suggestions of other places to post the form please let me know.
Legislative Chair for VMCTA
Legislative Changes to the Mobile Home Uniform Bill of Sale
H542 changes the format for the Mobile Home Uniform Bill of Sale, requires
more information be provided on the form, and stipulates responsibilities
for the different parties involved. For example, the statute specifies that
the owner of the land will be notified 21 days in advance, by certified
mail, and that the seller of the mobile home is responsible for that
Act 140, Legislative Session 2010, requires the Mobile Home Uniform Bill of
Sale be available on the website of the Department of Housing and Community
Affairs. The link to the online form is:
The new form is effective September 1, 2010. It is a two page form that
replaces the forms that were purchased from Marotti's. It will be necessary
to make copies. The original will be filed as the permanent record, a copy
will be provided to the buyer, seller and owner of the land.
The significant changes were:
. A copy of the unexecuted mobile home bill of sale will be provided
by the seller to the owner of the real property (land) at least 21 days
prior to the actual sale.
. The buyer must file the bill of sale within ten days of the actual
. The Town Clerk will only endorse the Bill of Sale if the form has
been completed on its face, the taxes have been paid as of the most recent
assessment or installment, if the mobile home is staying in town.
. If the mobile home is being moved all property taxes assessed shall
be paid. The mobile home bill of sale will be endorsed by the Town Clerk of
the Town where the mobile home is located at the time of the sale, and filed
by the Buyer with the Town Clerk of the Town where the mobile home will be
located after the sale.
. Within 14 days of filing, the Town Clerk in the town in which a
mobile home uniform bill of sale is filed shall mail a copy of the endorsed
bill of sale to each buyer, seller, and owner of real property for whom a
mailing address is provided.
It is important to note that the Town Clerk is not responsible for the
accuracy of the information being provided, only that the form is complete.
From: Vermont Municipal Government Discussion Network
[mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Kim Moulton
Sent: Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:43 AM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Mobile Home Bill of Sales
Has anyone received for recording the newest version of the mobile home bill
of sale? I was just told there were changes in legislation regarding the MH
bill of sale.
I found a copy of the new MH bill of sale on the Vermont Dept of Housing &
Community Affairs website (link:
%20HOME%20UNIFORM%20BILL%20OF%20SALE(2).pdf ). This is now a 2 page form
($20 to record and not $10?).
I can't find revised statutes. Does anyone know anything about the new form?
I hadn't heard anything about this amendment and changes to the form. Have
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. My office hours
are 8-4, Monday through Friday.
Town of Hyde Park
PO Box 98
Hyde Park, VT 05655