For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                                      Contact: Gordon Woodworth
May 4, 2005                                                                                                                                                                                                                      802/656-1110
Seven Vermont Skiers Named to National All-Academic Team

BURLINGTON, Vt. – Seven student-athletes on the University of Vermont ski team have been named to the NCAA Skiing All-Academic Team as selected by the United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association (USCSCA).

The seven Catamounts are among nearly 150 student-athletes nationally who were honored for their academic excellence. Those selected to the All-Academic team must have attained a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher for the fall term and must have competed at their own regional championships.

The Vermont skiers honored were: Lowell Bailey (Lake Placid, N.Y.); Amy Cochran (Keene, N.H.); Kate Crawford (Hawley, Mass.); Emilia DeMarchis (Burlington, Vt.); Ethan Foster (Weston, Vt.); Anja Jokela (Shelburne, Vt.); and Hilary McCloy (Bethel, Maine). Cochran and Jokela have been named to the elite academic team for three straight years, while DeMarchis is a two-time selection, having been honored in 2004 as well.

“It is a great honor to place seven of our student-athletes on the NCAA Skiing All-Academic Team,” head coach Bill Reichelt said. “Commitment to academic as well as athletic success is the cornerstone of UVM Athletics, and we are proud that seven Catamount skiers have been honored for their achievements by the United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association.”

For more information on the UVM Athletic Department and the Catamount ski team, please check out our website, <> .