[log in to unmask]" alt=""> Office of the Provost
and Senior Vice President

March 14, 2011

Dear Faculty, Staff and Students:

We are writing to announce a town meeting forum on the General Education project. The forum is scheduled for:

·         Tuesday, March 15, 4:00-6:00 p.m., Silver Maple Ballroom, Dudley H. Davis Center.

The purpose of the forum is to discuss the Interim Report of the Joint Committee on General Education, now posted on the Gen Ed website http://www.uvm.edu/provost/generaleducation/.

As described on the website, the forums are part of an iterative process to inform the development of a proposal for a system of General Education. The members of the Joint Committee want to hear your comments, concerns and constructive criticisms. The format will be a brief overview of the report followed by a question and answer session.

We look forward to lively discussions and we hope to see you at the forum.

 NEW!  The session will be broadcast live on ustream.tv for those unable to attend in person.


The members of the General Education Work Group:

Todd Alleger (Student Government Association), through January 2011

Alison Armstrong (faculty, University Libraries)

Gavin Caster (Student Government Association), January 2011-

Eileen CichoskiKelly, (faculty, College of Medicine; Committee Co-Chair)

David Barrington (faculty, College of Agriculture and Life Science)

Bernard Cole (Interim Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences)

Susan Comerford (faculty, College of Education and Social Sciences)

Deborah Ellis (faculty, College of Arts and Sciences)

Jeff Frolik (faculty, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences)

Joel Goldberg (Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences), January 2011-

Susanmarie Harrington (faculty, College of Arts and Sciences; Director, Writing in the Disciplines Program)

Kofi Mensah (President, Student Government Association)

Eleanor Miller (Dean, College of Arts and Sciences), through January 2011

Deborah O’Rourke (faculty, College of Nursing and Health Sciences)

Brian Reed (Associate Provost, Committee Co-Chair)

Abu Rizvi (Dean, Honors College)

John Sama (Director, Living/Learning Center and Residential Learning Communities)

Mary Watzin (Dean, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources)

Jacqueline Weinstock (faculty, College of Education and Social Services)

Martha Woodman (faculty, School of Business Administration)