The sixteen teams are now chosen.

Teams composed of any two individuals from any nation will compete for the America’s Cup, 12 April 2012 on the campus of Willamette University in Oregon, the day before the US Universities Debating Championship. Sixteen teams in the contest, a seeding round, a quarterfinal, semifinal and then a final round to occur in the evening as a major public debate. The format is WUDC.

Here are the teams accepted into the America’s Cup competition for 2012.

In no particular order:

Josh Martin & Buzz Klinger (Tennis & HWS)
Paul Gross & Drew Adamczyk (Vermont)
Travis Steele & Austin Thoma (Colgate)
Colin Etnire & Ian Malamud (Bates)
Colin Murphy & Aaron Baker (Cal-Davis & Portland State)
Brian Farnham & Michael Wilson (Michigan)
John Patrick & Ryan Mansell (LaVerne)
Mark Eastham & Agnes Nam (University of London Union)
Emily Ravenscroft & Courtney Pickard (Loyola Marymount)
Andrew Connery & Max Dovala (Yale University)
Kaleb Brooks & John Denzler (Regis University)
Tejeswara Reddy & Rafael Baptista (Willamette)
Josiah Peterson & Burk Ohbayaski (King’s College)
Christine Simpson & Michael O’Dwyer (University College Dublin Literary & Historical Society)
George Fitzpatrick & David Hernandez (St. John’s & HWS)
Daniel Berman & Mischa Beekman (London School of Economics)

We are also looking for a stand-by team in case someone has travel difficulties. 

Judges so far in no order:

Bojana Skrt, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Marcus Paroske, Michigan
Rob Ruiz, LaVerne
Alfred Snider, Vermont
Rob Margesson, Regis
Yang Ge, Dalian Nationalities University
James Kilcup, Loyola Marymount
Katie Teubl, King’s College
Mary Nugent, Vermont
Austin Schwartz, Colgate
Manos Moschopoulos, IDEA
Nick McGrail, LaVerne
Tom Dionesotes, Vermont

We also need an extra judge or so, send an email!
Alfred C. Snider aka Tuna
Edwin Lawrence Professor of Forensics, University of Vermont
Huber House, 475 Main Street, UVM, Burlington, VT 05405 USA
Lawrence Debate Union 
Global Debate Blog 
Debate Central; 
802-656-0097 office; 802-238-8345 mobile;802-656-4275 fax