Dear Colleagues

Abstract submissions for Goldschmidt 2017 in Paris are now open at will close on April 1^st . 
The meeting is 13-18 August 2017. If your work concerns crustal fluids 
in any guise -- where they come from, what they are, what they do -- 
then please consider submitting an abstract to Session 06j *Aqueous 
Fluids in the Crust* - Convenors: Aude Gébelin, Sarah Gleeson, Philippe 
Boulvais, Bruce Yardley. The keynote speaker will be Professor Lukas 
Baumgartner (University of Lausanne) and the session description is as 

/Aqueous fluids are fundamental to the development of the Earth's crust, 
enabling melting, deformation and chemical segregation. This session 
will focus on the chemical and physical role of aqueous fluids at all 
levels in the crust, including aspects of fluid behaviour that cross the 
classical divisions of geology. Throughout the crust, the composition of 
fluids is partly controlled by their environment (e.g. interactions with 
host rocks and minerals and PTX) but also depends on external factors 
which include the source of the fluid. Contributions which help unpick 
these controls on fluid chemistry or which use them to understand how, 
why and when fluids move through the crust will all be welcome. A 
particular focus will be on the infiltration of meteoric fluids into the 
crust. Petrologists have mainly focused on fluids generated within the 
crust by mineral reactions, but it is increasingly appreciated that 
other fluids, notably those from the surface, may play a vital role in 
orogenic processes. This session will bring together researchers dealing 
with both modern and ancient processes and will include field, 
analytical, experimental and numerical modelling approaches to 
understanding how fluids penetrate the crust and react with it. It will 
encompass fluids involved in processes from ore genesis to orogenesis. 
Contributions dealing with both identifying the sources of fluids which 
have played a role in crustal development, and understanding why and how 
they move and the time it takes them to do so, will all be welcome/

We look forward to seeing you in Paris!

Aude Gébelin, Sarah Gleeson, Philippe Boulvais, Bruce Yardley, Stéphane 

Philippe Boulvais