Print

Print


Hello,

I'm not sure if this would help anyone, but we tend to do a PowerWash when the devices build up with too many users, as the process described above is just too tedious at scale. Might be worth exploring instead of the rapid pressing of the tab and return keys. 

Kind Regards,
David

On Mon, Nov 26, 2018 at 12:48 PM Marion Bates <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
If you have shared Chromebooks and you've got the device settings arranged to show recent users on the signin screen, eventually you get a buildup of accounts. When you want to clear some out, you pick the account and click the little arrow and select "Remove this user." Then it shows some text saying "all files and local data associated with this user will be permanently deleted once this user is removed. [they] can still sign in later." Normally you then click "Remove this user" again just below that text, to really do it. Like this:

removethisusergood.jpg

We're seeing that, for all but the most recently-used account, the option to actually do the removal doesn't appear:

removethisuser.jpg

(Nothing beneath the word "later") 

We've determined that once you get to this point, if you rapidly hit the tab key followed by the return key, it in fact does remove the user. Sometimes takes a couple of tries. Leading me to believe that the link/button IS still there, but is being pushed off the edge of the dropdown's canvas area or whatever, out of mouse reach but accessible with keyboard shortcuts. 

We're seeing this on Chrome 70.0.2528.110, not sure exactly when it began. (shrug) More reason to switch device settings to always show username and password fields vs. cached accounts, I guess.

-- MB

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Search the SCHOOL-IT Archive

Manage your Subscription to SCHOOL-IT



--
David McClellan
HelpDesk Coordinator
Chittenden East Supervisory Union
Office: (802) 899 - 4093
Mobile: (802) 458 - 7327

This e-mail may contain information protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). If this e-mail contains student information and you are not entitled to access such information under FERPA, please notify the sender. Federal regulations require that you destroy this e-mail without reviewing it and you may not forward it to anyone. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Search the SCHOOL-IT Archive

Manage your Subscription to SCHOOL-IT