Print

Print


International meeting: No to the New Cold War

Saturday 25 July 2pm BST, 9pm CST, 9am ET, 6am PT


SPEAKERS INCLUDE:

  • Medea Benjamin (Co-founder, CODEPINK)
  • Wang Wen (Executive Dean, Chongyang Institute for Financial Studies, Renmin University of China)
  • Martin Jacques (Author: 'When China Rules the World')
  • Vijay Prashad (Executive Director, Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research)
  • Carlos Ron (Vice-Minister for North America, Venezuela's Ministry for Foreign Relations)
  • Qiao Collective
  • Yury Tavrovksy (Author: 'America Against China: Cold War in Times of Coronavirus')
  • Yang Hanyi (Senior editor, Guancha.cn)
  • Ajamu Baraka (Black Agenda Report)
  • Margaret Kimberley (Black Agenda Report)
  • Kate Hudson (General Secretary, Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament)
  • Radhika Desai (Professor, Department of Political Studies, University of Manitoba)
  • John Ross (Senior Fellow, Chongyang Institute for Financial Studies, Renmin University of China)
  • Elias Jabbour (Associate Professor, Rio de Janeiro State University)
  • Jenny Clegg (Author: 'China's Global Strategy: Toward a Multipolar World')

ORGANISERS' STATEMENT:

A New Cold War on China is against the interests of humanity

We note the increasingly aggressive statements and actions being taken by the US government in regard to China. These constitute a threat to world peace and are an obstacle to humanity successfully dealing with extremely serious common issues which confront it such as climate change, control of pandemics, racist discrimination and economic development.

We therefore believe that any New Cold War would run entirely counter to the interests of humanity. Instead we stand in favour of maximum global cooperation in order to tackle the enormous challenges we face as a species.

We therefore call upon the US to step back from this threat of a Cold War and also from other dangerous threats to world peace it is engaged in including: withdrawal from the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces agreement; withdrawal from the Paris Climate Change Accords; and its increasing disengagement from UN bodies. The US should also stop pressuring other countries to adopt such dangerous positions.

We support China and the US basing their relations on mutual dialogue and centring on the common issues which unite humanity.

To view the statement in other languages, visit the website


Sent from my iPhone